An Experiment in Asia

I have recently returned from a 9 day trip to The Philippines, and if you’ve read my last post, you’ll have seen I spoke about obsession and neuroticism regarding my following of a paleo lifestyle. This somewhat unfortunate personality trait extends into other aspects of my life, and as a result, I found myself concerned over what I was eating and drinking in Asia, in my efforts to avoid contaminated food and water. As I mentioned previously, my approach to Paleo has altered over the recent months, and while I did not indulge at the breakfast buffets, or liberally poured soy sauce all over my meals, I did make some choices that I knew wouldn’t have too much of an adverse effect, both to ensure I fulfilled my hunger, and enjoyed the experience of tasty Philippine dishes. A couple of bites of Halo Halo (a traditional Philippino dessert that translated means “mixed together”, of shaved ice, evaporated milk, coconut, with boiled sweet beans, jelly and candies underneath) didn’t do me any harm, nor did a plate of steamed veggies with a peanut sauce. I also ate quite a lot of rice, which I felt no negative effects of, and the odd portion of fries/potato wedges when there really was no other choice I wanted to risk. Luckily, meat and vegetables are the majority of the diet, and so when our hosts laid out a Thanksgiving dinner of Lechon (suckling pig), Turkey and delicious sweet potato, I was more than happy to partake. Of course, I have no way of knowing the long term effects eating rice and the odd bit of sugar has had, but judging by how I felt throughout the trip and after eating these, I’m inclined to say it won’t be too bad. My body is usually quite good at telling me how it’s feeling, and I’m pleased to say it responded rather well the whole trip. We even managed to find a Paleo friendly restaurant in Manila, so look out for this in my next post. I guess the point of this post is to build on my last, and say do what you need to do to enjoy life and feel great. A little bit of what you can tolerate every now and then won’t kill you.

Leave a Reply

